Exeter C set the early pace in Division 2


Division 1 holders, Queens A, started the 2018/19 campaign with a battling  5-4 win over Ringswell A.  It was an impressive debut for James Teale who picked up 3 wins with his Queens partner Ian Kirby. Ben Jordan/Nathan Scase (1) and Lloyd Skinner/Jamie Dawe (1) completed the scoring.  Ringswell’s Tony Clark and Adrian Freeman came out tops in a real close clash against Lloyd and Jamie, edging the win 20-22, 23-21, 22-20.

A new look Exeter A team of Sam Lees, Dave Spencer, Chris Bowker, Gareth Pearse, Matt Whyman and reserve Jeremy Smith won their inhouse derby with Exeter B 6-3. John Collar and Rob Flack were the pick of the B team pairs, bagging a brace of wins.

Exeter A  slumped to a 6-3 defeat to a Zac Phillips inspired St Leonards A. Zac and his partner Charlie Wardale played imperious badminton and were fully deserving of their 3 wins. Tom Phillips and Vernon Smeed also picked up a maximum for the Saints.

Exeter C top Division 2 with 2 successive wins. Their match against Otter Vale A match went into extra time, with 5 of the 9 rubbers going to a deciding 3rd game. In the end Exeter C triumphed 6-3, with all 3 pairs of Jeremy Smith/Prakash Kripakaran, Ed Choi/Andy Sands, and Richard Grigg/Chris Brashley  chipping in with 2 wins.

An unchanged Exeter C made it 2 wins out of 2 with a battling 5-4 win over St Leonards C. The match was nip and tuck but swayed Exeter’s way after their 3rd pair of Richard Grigg and Chris Brashley beat the St Leonards top pair of Ant Towl/Chris Wardale 18-21, 21-18, 21-14.

Chulmleigh A celebrated promotion to Division 2 with a superb 6-3 win over Ringswell B. Ben Hamill and Matt Harvey led the way with 3 wins and were well supported by Mat Older/George Suliauskas (2) and Martin Griffiths/Adrian Bourner (1). Simon Ashenden and Tim Ellis bagged a brace of wins for Ringswell.

Otter Vale A came away from Ringswell  B with their first win of the season. They edged the match 5-4, thanks to an unbeaten display from their top pairing of Rob Jackson and Nic Williamson. This included a nailbiting 21-19, 28-26 win over Ringswell’s Tim Ellis and Richard Burn.  Otter Vale’s Brian Deem and Tim Hall also contributed with 2 wins.

In Division 3A, it already looks like a 2 horse race for the title between  St Leonards D  and Otter Vale B.

The  Saints team of Lee Clatworthy, Martin Matthews, Rashel Hussain, Barrie Sharman, Jason Gibbins and Mike Lamboll had a comfortable 9-0 win over 2 pair Honiton.

Exeter D and St Leonards D had a real humdinger of a match, which was eventually won 5-4 by Exeter, who had to concede the final rubber as the sports hall was closing! Exeter’s Dave Marrison and Carlos Torres starred with 3 wins.

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2018-11-9