Tenth time lucky for Tenacious COBS


The race to the Division 1 title is now reaching its climax, with Ringswell A and Queens both in contention. Will it be the 3rd title on the trot for Ringswell A or will Queens win their first title since the 2016-17 season?

With one more match each to play, Queens have what could be a decisive advantage of a 6 point lead.

In their second head to head Ringswell A won the day with a battling 4-2 win over Queens. The Ringswell team of Jess Hill, Claire Harrison, Erin Whitten and Launa Eyles inflicted Queens first loss of the season. However the Queens team of Sarah Preece, Grace Lee, Amy Housley and Mandy Bishop picked up 2 valuable points.

Queens bounced back to beat Chulmleigh . Hannah Preece and Jackie Kirby replaced Grace and Amy for Queens. The team were in devastating form winning all their rubbers in 2 games and only  conceded more than 10 points in  3 games

Queens notched up their 9th 6-0 win of the season when they beat Ringswell B, who were unable to raise a full team.

St Leonards Ladies gifted a 6-0 walkover to Queens, due to being unable to raise a full team.

An unchanged Ringswell A team brushed aside a valliant Otter Vale A 6-0. Amazingly they only conceded more than 10 points in 1 game.

Chulmleigh Ladies finally got their first win of the season, ending a losing streak of 9 matches. The “Chulmleigh Old Birds” of Lorna See, Michelle Wilde, Karen Parish and Fiona Marshall were overcome with delight in beating Otter Vale A by the impressive scoreline of 6-0.

Otter Vale A are in a bad run, also losing 6-0 to the Exeter team of Cindy Li, Julia Melling, Stacey Horne and Hazel Wong.

St Leonards travelled with only 3 ladies to Otter Vale A, thus handing Otter Vale 3 points for the conceded rubbers. However the Saints trio of Louise Gubbin, Sue Banks and Sharon May won all the other rubbers to come away with a 3-3 draw.


Otter Vale B will be crowned Division 2 winners. They jus t have to field teams for their remaining 2 matches, as they have a 14 point lead and a match in hand over their nearest rivals Sidmouth.

The 2 teams played out a 3-3 draw in a crackerjack of a match. The Otter Vale B ladies of June Goode, Claire Ross, Mya Walker and Margaret Townsend were always playing catch up. Sidmouth’s Rachel Irish won all her games and was well supported by Grace Williams, Linda McCracken and Dee Cooper.

Sidmouth then slipped to a 4-2 reverse at the hands of the Otter Vale C team of Anne Drury, Sue O’Brien, Margaret Townsend and Maxine Sweetman. Grace Williams, with Linda Herd and Theresa Bisson salvaging the 2 points for Sidmouth

An unchanged Otter Vale C team achieved the double over Cranford with a superb 6-0 win.

Honiton were unable to raise a full team for their match away to Cranford. The Cranford team of Lianne O’Donnell, Sharon Young, Mary Knight and Liz Tripura took advantage to record only their 2nd win of the season – 5-1 being the final score.

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2020-5-20