The League, formed in 1952, is based in Exeter and provides competitive badminton for clubs in the area. The season usually starts in September and ends in April. Some clubs do, however continue to play socially throughout the summer months...

Amazing Grace stars for Sidmouth

 Division 2A leaders Queens B have extended their unbeaten run to 5 matches.Their latest win was a 6-3 triumph over Otter Vale A. All Queens points came from Bronya Pike/Nathan Scase and Kate Povey/Ben Jordan, whereas each Otter Vale pair of Heather Rake/Brian Deem, Jo Smith/Dan Clark and Teresa Simic/Dave Williamson picked up 1 win apiece.Otter Vale A were beaten 9-0 by a rampant St Leonards A team of Kay Brewer/Adrian Midmer, Sue Banks/Rami Yedidi, Louise Gubbin and Tim Wardale. The win keeps the Saints in touching distance of Queens B, only 2 points behind.St Leonards B enjoyed their first win of the season with a 7-2 victory over Chulmleigh. Saints Captain Jess Hand and her partner Ian Jameson were unbeaten whilst Nikki Anslow/John Gubbin and Ruth McClelland/Andy Rowe both bagged a brace of wins. Chulmleigh’s points came from Michelle Wylde and Jake Rice, making his first start for the team. Sidmouth B have had a

Sidmouth are Schmidten with win

Division1 leaders and reigning champions Queens A took a giant leap to retaining their title with a comfortable 9-0 win over Sidmouth A. Sidmouth could only muster 2 pairs, with Charlie and Will Amos making their debut in the A team.Queens B inflicted a 7-2 win over a full strength Sidmouth A with their young stars of Alex Moir and Lloyd Skinner leading the way with 3 wins. The pairs of Sam Clark/Callum Cheung and Tim Goode/Ben Herbert contributed 2 wins apiece.Sidmouth have however climbed off the bottom of Division 1 following an exceptional 6-3 win over Ringswell A. Shaun Roberts starred on his debut for Sidmouth, partnering veteran Chris Bird to 3 wins. John Carter and Martyn Schmidt were also unbeaten. Ringswell’s Steve Rice suffered an injury mid match which meant Ringswell had to concede 1 rubber to Sidmouth. In Division 2 Exeter B have extended their unbeaten run to 5 matches. They beat Queens C 6-3, although none of their pairs could ge

Ladies Report 4

 In Division 3A,  Chulmleigh's Michelle Wylde, Karen Parish, Jackie Anderson and Cath Escritt  beat Honiton 5-1. Honiton's point was picked up by Helena Williams and Sue Caller. Chulmleigh currently head the division, just 2 points ahead of Sidmouth.  Neither side emerged the winner when Honiton's Zaria Taylor, Helena Williams, Janet Ingram and Sue Fallows drew 3-3 with Leonards C's Sharon May, Rachel Marson, Caroline Mace and Anne Trevena. Cranford's Claire Hannah, Lisa Stevens, Mo Martin and Liane O'Donnell  convincingly beat Honiton 6-0. Only  Janet Ingram and Sue Fallows were able to push Cranford to take a game off Cranford. In Division 1, League leaders, Queens's Sarah Preece, Bronya Pike, Jackie Kirby and Mandy Raasch- Sotinwa were able to notch up their third 6-0 win in succession when played  Exeter away. Ringswell A's Claire Harrison, Jess Hill, Sylvia Child an

League Composition 2016/2017

The League composition for the 2016/2017 season will be decided when the League Committee meets on Wednesday 21st September. Secretaries are reminded that they MUST submit their League Entries and Club Details paperwork to Helen Potter, by 6pm on Saturday 17th September at the latest.  See downloadable version below.  The League's Fixtures Meeting will take place on Thursday 29th September at The Coaver Club, County Hall, Topsham Road, Exeter from 7.00pm.

Sam has double success at League Tournament

 There was a double success for Sam Owens at this year’s Exeter and District Badminton League’s Annual Tournament.  Sam won the doubles with his brother, Callum, and mixed doubles title with his mother, Suzanne.The new Men’s Singles champion is Zac Phillips who defeated the number one seed, Sam Owens, in his semi-final match and the holder and number two seed, Jamie Roberton, in the final. Jamie faced tough opposition from Nathan Scase in his semi-final match before winning 21-11 in the third set.There was a shock defeat for the 2014 champions and number one seeds, Jamie Roberton and Zac Phillips in the first round of the Mens Doubles when they were beaten 21-13, 7-21, 21-19 by their clubmates, Lloyd Skinner and Alex Moir. Skinner and Moir had another tough match in their semi-final against Geoff Littler and Sam Lees, this time lo

Queens are the 2016 Knockout Winners

The finals of the 2016 Knockout Competition were held at the Riverside Leisure Centre, Exeter on Saturday 5th March.  In the main event Queens (-14) beat Otter Vale (+7) by 45 points.  In the plate final, Ringswell B (+9) beat Honiton (+9) by 57 points. 

Saints stars Brewer and Midmer are Masters Mixed Champs

 10 pairs took part in the 2016 Mixed Masters Handicapped Tournament. The Pairs were split into 2 groups, played on a round robin basis, with the winner of each Group progressing to a Final. Di Brooker and Brian Jeary of Ringswell (+1) took full control of their group and booked their spot in the final by winning 7 out of 8 games, dropping only 2 points in the process. Clyst Vales Nicola Martin and Steve Thompson (Scr) being the only pair to beat them in the group stages. The other half of the draw was wide open with no one pair winning all their games. The winner of the group was decided in the match between Kay Brewer/Adrian Midmer of St Leonards (-12) and Julie Frost of Sidmouth and her partner Paul Owens of Ringswell (-9). In a pulsating game of high quality badminton, Kay and Adrian won the first game 21-15, and Julie and Paul fought back to win the second game 21-19. The St Leonards pair finished top of the group wi

Hat trick of wins for Andy Rowe in Masters Tournament

 The 2015/2016 Masters Levels Tournament produced some thrillingly close badminton. The Mens event was played as a round robin event with 7 pairs. Andy Rowe of St Leonards won the title for the 3rd time, this year partnered with Phil Matthews also of St Leonards. The pair playing off a handicap of -3 played some fine badminton of stubborn defending mixed with attacking play on their way to winning 6 out of 7 games and a total score of 125 points. Last years winners Adrian Wijay and Adrian Midmer, also of St Leonards (-12) denied them a perfect record by scraping a 21-20 win. That win secured the runners up spot for them with a points tally of 113 points and 4 wins. The Chulmleigh pair of Adrian Bourner and Matt Raasch-Sotinwa (+8) secured 3rd place with 113 points, but won 1 fewer game than the 2nd placed pair. 3 Pairs contested the Ladies with last years winners Chulmleighs Michelle Wylde

No Strings Badminton: Social, Pay & Play Sessions

Need to brush up on your skills before joining a league Club?Weekly, social, pay and play badminton sessions are available at:Clifton Hill Sports Centre: Wednesdays 08:30 - 11:30 for the over 50sContact the venue for more information: 01392 253353Wonford Leisure Centre: Wednesdays 9 - 10:30 & 19:30 - 20:30Contact the venue for more information: 01392 253453Riverside: Wednesdays 9-11Contact the venue for more information: 01392 221771

Andy Rowe
Last Modified 2017-2-19